Griffey v. Encarnacion
Got a lot of emails like this morning:
"I thought Narron made a good move taking Encarnacion out of the game last night. However, is there a double standard here? Was Griffey penalized for not running his double out last Sunday and settling for just a single? That could have been a big play in that game. Just curious. Thanks."
Mark, Bloomington, Ind.
That's basically what I wrote my off-day analysis about. There are different rules for different players. But I think Jerry Narron is forced to act the next time Griffey - or anyone else - doesn't break out of the box. I wasn't there for the game mentioned in the e-mail, but talking to Chris Welsh today he said Griffey did run, albeit not very hard. I know Jeff Brantley got on Griffey on the radio about the play and then gave it to him - good naturedly - in the clubhouse the next day. My guess is it doesn't become an issue because by saying what he said Narron served notice and the veterans will respond.
I'm writing from CVG. Got a 3 1/2-hour layover here. The wife made the trip out to meet me for lunch, although we couldn't have lunch because every place semi-decent to eat is on the other side of security. Oh well.