Reds Insider
From news of the day to news of the weird, John Fay provides a glimpse of what it’s like to cover the Cincinnati Reds

John Fay
John Fay has been the Reds beat writer for the Enquirer since 2001. Prior to that, he served in a variety of roles for the Enquirer: backup Reds writer, UC beat writer, backup Bengals writer and as a general assignment reporter. He is a Cincinnati native and a graduate of Elder High School and the University of Dayton.

Powered by Blogger

Tuesday, August 14, 2007

On the Ross hit

Neither Pete Mackanin nor Bronson Arroyo had any problem with the Mike Cameron-David Ross collision.

“I looked like to me on replay that (Ross) stood right in front of the base path,” Mackanin said. “Base-runner has no other choice. I thought it was a clean. . . You can choose to go around a guy or slide, but when a guy’s blocking the plate, you're taught to knock him over.”

Arroyo saw it the same way: “(Ross) was way up the line. He was in a place he shouldn't have been.”


at 6:55 PM Blogger Patrick said...

How ridiculous is it that they dont even think it was the slightest bit dirty and say Ross is to blame. Very pathetic of this team.

at 7:05 PM Anonymous Anonymous said...

The catching position is often a contact position, so contact happens. To say that any player that decided to run over the catcher is dirty, or to run over the catcher is a dirty play is ridiculous. Running over the catcher is part of the game, period.

I guess you think that pitchers beaning players is a dirty play also, guess you are one of those new school baseball fans that have turned this game into a wussy game...

at 7:36 PM Blogger Scott said...

Catcher rule #1....


at 9:09 PM Blogger OhioJim said...

"Catcher rule #1....


Unless you knock the other guy down going for the ball. That was Ross's mistake. He opened himself up to reach for the ball without lowering the boom on Cameron as he went after the ball.

at 7:35 AM Anonymous Anonymous said...

I have no problem with Ross getting hit. That is part of baseball. But it looked to me that Cameron got his elbow up into Ross's head. In any case, if the manager and the pitcher go on record as saying they have no problem with the hit, who are we to question it? In any case, I wish Ross a speedy recovery. He's having a down year, but he's a good guy, and we need him on this team, not Sonny Jorgensen.

at 8:33 AM Anonymous Anonymous said...

I'm old school, but Cameron went out of his way to hit Ross before ross had the ball. Cameron had the entire play in front of him and could have easily just slid or ran across the plate but at the very end, he takes a left turn and leads with his shoulder in an obviously dirty play. That would be a fine in the NFL. I'm no homer I just calls it as I sees it.

Post a Comment*

* Our online blogs currently are hosted and operated by a third party, namely, Blogger.com. You are now leaving the Cincinnati.Com website and will be linked to Blogger.com's registration page. The Blogger.com site and its associated services are not controlled by Cincinnati.Com and different terms of use and privacy policy will apply to your use of the Blogger.com site and services.

By proceeding and/or registering with Blogger.com you agree and understand that Cincinnati.Com is not responsible for the Blogger.com site you are about to access or for any service you may use while on the Blogger.com site. << Home


Jim Borgman
Today at the Forum
Paul Daugherty
Politics Extra
N. Ky. Politics
Pop culture review
Who's News
Roller Derby Diva
CinStages Buzz....
The Foodie Report
Classical music
John Fay's Reds Insider
High school sports
UC Sports
CiN Weekly staff