Reds Insider
From news of the day to news of the weird, John Fay provides a glimpse of what it’s like to cover the Cincinnati Reds

John Fay
John Fay has been the Reds beat writer for the Enquirer since 2001. Prior to that, he served in a variety of roles for the Enquirer: backup Reds writer, UC beat writer, backup Bengals writer and as a general assignment reporter. He is a Cincinnati native and a graduate of Elder High School and the University of Dayton.

Powered by Blogger

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

Hall vote

The Reds Hall of Fame voting begins Aug. 1.

It's a strong class. But I would think Barry Larkin is one to get in. Hal Morris and Chris Sabo will eventually get in.

Here's the release from the Reds:

Voting for 2008 Reds Hall of Fame Class Starts Aug. 1
Fans can vote online, by mail, or at Great American Ball Park
CINCINNATI (July 26, 2007) – Starting Aug. 1, Reds fans can start voting for the 2008 Reds Hall of Fame class. Fans can cast their ballot at the Cincinnati Reds Hall of Fame and Museum, at Great American Ball Park during Reds home games, online at www.reds.com, or by mailing their ballot to the Reds Hall of Fame. Ballots can also be picked up at participating hhgregg stores throughout the tri-state. hhgregg is the presenting sponsor of the 2008 Reds Hall of Fame fan vote.

Included on this year’s ballot are: Jeff Brantley, Norm Charlton, Rob Dibble, Dan Driessen, Tom Hume, Ray Knight, Barry Larkin, Hal Morris, Ron Oester, Joe Oliver, Paul O’Neill, Dave Parker, and Chris Sabo. The player receiving the most votes will be inducted into the Reds Hall of Fame in 2008. Voting concludes Aug. 31 with the winner announced in September.

Fans voting online can visit www.reds.com and vote up to 10 times per e-mail address. Ballots submitted by mail should be sent to: Cincinnati Reds Hall of Fame and Museum; Attn: Hall of Fame Vote; 100 Main St.; Cincinnati, OH 45202. Ballots must be postmarked by Aug. 31.

New to the ballot this year is the opportunity to catch a Reds game with Mr. Perfect, Tom Browning. When fans submit their paper or online ballot, they can also be entered in to win two Diamond Club tickets to the Reds-Cubs game on Sept. 30, 2007, and be hosted by Browning.


at 11:41 AM Blogger Mr. Redlegs said...

Here's the problem with team Halls of Fame.

When you put it to public vote you are saying you're more interested in selling tickets to the Hall than the legitimacy of the induction. Let's say you have a year in which the only candidates are Larry, Curly, Moe and Shemp

Do you place one of those clowns in the Hall because you've got to have someone inducted that year? A public vote says yes. A private vote among living team HOFers and a small, select committee says no, and gives the Hall more credibility.

Sure, Larkin and Oester deserve the honor. Hal Morris and Chris Sabo? Get real.

The historic Reds should not have a Hall of Fame comprised by a marketing gimmick but on specific criteria (years with the team, stats, prominence with the organization, etc.) and actual merit, not a popularity contest among the voting public.

at 1:41 PM Blogger TheNaturalMevs said...

Hal Morris? With the likes of the Big Red Machine types? My goodness. Hal Morris?!?!? He never really played a full season, as a first baseman at a power position he never hit more than 16 HR. He was never an all-star and despite being underrated defensively, he never won a Gold Glove. Goodness sakes I'd hope we could do better than Hal Morris. He's not HOF material, never will be.

at 2:25 PM Blogger John Fay said...

This is the Reds Hall, not the National Hall. Morris' numbers with the Reds compare with Ken Griffey Sr. and Gordy Coleman, who are in. They're better than Tommy Helms.

It's an interesting debate. This year -- with one going in -- Larkin is a lock.

The Baseball Writers used to vote guys in. The Reds wanted to drum up more interest with a fan vote.

Fans have put deserving guys in: Eric Davis and Jose Rijo in 2005; Tom Seaver and Tom Browning in 2006.

at 3:17 PM Blogger Mr. Redlegs said...

If you insist on the fans having a vote, then it should comprise only a portion of the score. Let the local media vote, and give a vote to the living Reds HOFers.

at 3:41 PM Blogger Pete Rose Colored Glasses said...


Clint, I for once agree with you. Hal Morris is far from a shoo-in for the Reds Hall.

at 3:46 PM Blogger Jeremy said...

Since HAl Morris is on the ballot, I'd like to nominate Todd Benziger, Danny Graves, and Jack Armstrong.

Can't wait til Juan Castro is finally eligible. Dare to dream with "the greats..."

at 6:30 PM Blogger Shawn said...

It's a good list, but Larkin is clearly the class of it.

at 10:08 PM Anonymous mikec said...

Hey, leave Hal Morris alone. He's my all-time favorite Red. Seriously.

at 1:19 AM Anonymous Jim said...

As much as I like Paul O'Neill, I wouldn't vote for him because I heard him say that even tho he played for the Reds, he considers himself a Yankee and I don't want a Yankee in the Reds Hall

Post a Comment*

* Our online blogs currently are hosted and operated by a third party, namely, Blogger.com. You are now leaving the Cincinnati.Com website and will be linked to Blogger.com's registration page. The Blogger.com site and its associated services are not controlled by Cincinnati.Com and different terms of use and privacy policy will apply to your use of the Blogger.com site and services.

By proceeding and/or registering with Blogger.com you agree and understand that Cincinnati.Com is not responsible for the Blogger.com site you are about to access or for any service you may use while on the Blogger.com site. << Home


Jim Borgman
Today at the Forum
Paul Daugherty
Politics Extra
N. Ky. Politics
Pop culture review
Who's News
Roller Derby Diva
CinStages Buzz....
The Foodie Report
Classical music
John Fay's Reds Insider
High school sports
UC Sports
CiN Weekly staff